One Thread Pulled: The Dance with Mr. Darcy

One Thread Pulled:

The Dance with Mr. Darcy

by Diana J. Oaks

Although I’ve read it twice before, I decided to revisit this excellent story—full of sweet romance, intrigue, and even a mystery—for The Pride and Prejudice Bicentenary Challenge. I highly recommend this book!

What if, from the story of Pride and Prejudice, weaved by Jane Austen, one thread was pulled? Diana J. Oaks imagines just that when she pulls the thread that has Elizabeth Bennet overhearing Mr. Darcy’s insult at the assembly ball. As a result, One Thread Pulled goes off in  directions increasingly dissimilar to the original as the story unfolds.

Since there was no knowledge of the insult, Mrs. Bennet declares that they should forgive Mr. Darcy’s pride, and Elizabeth agrees. Jane suffers a fall on her way to Netherfield rather than an illness, resulting in some rather amusing scenes which explain the changes in her character from the original.Without Elizabeth’s injured pride, her behavior toward Mr. Darcy is friendlier, causing both their feelings to develop sooner. Colonel Fitzwilliam and Georgiana Darcy appear earlier, as well, and the characters we love to hate are even more hate-worthy in this adaptation—a very satisfying deviation.

I was sorry to see this book end, and I am looking forward to the second of the series to be published! Diana’s first draft of the sequel is being posted to BeyondAusten.com, titled Constant as the Sun.

Loving Miss Darcy (Brides of Pemberley)

Loving Miss Darcy (Brides of Pemberley)

by Nancy Kelley

You know it’s a really good story when you hit the end and you still want to read more. If one listened closely when I finished this book, they would have heard a very audible, “Awww! There’s no more?!” and noticed that I kept flipping to see if there was any mention of a sequel.

In Loving Miss Darcy, Elizabeth and Darcy are very happily married. Richard Fitzwilliam is now out of the army at half-pay and has been taking care of his father’s estates in lieu of his brother, who does not really care for the land. His brother decides to take an interest after all—mainly, it seems, in order to spite Richard. Wanting nothing to do with his brother, Richard leaves Matlock and heads over to Pemberley.

Upon arrival, he finds that, after putting off Georgiana’s season in order for Elizabeth to be presented, it is now time for Georgiana’s coming out. The gentlemen are rather reluctant about it—as is Georgiana. As Mary Bennet has no interest in having a Season, and Kitty is all for it, the Darcys ask Kitty to accompany them to London to be presented at court as well, hoping some of her enthusiasm will wear off on Georgiana.

As the Season begins, Richard can’t understand the extreme discomfort that comes over him whenever he thinks of Georgiana having suitors, and heaven forbid anyone should mention that the purpose for a Season is so that she shall marry!

Although at times I wanted to shake some sense into poor Richard, experiencing his confusion was all part of the fun—an Austen-inspired story would be nothing without misunderstandings!  I think this is one of my favorite Colonel Fitzwilliam characterizations, and I really loved Georgiana, too. I enjoyed all the new characters that Nancy Kelley came up with, as well.

A big “thumbs up” from me for Loving Miss Darcy!

~~~~~~

I read this novel as part of the

The Pride and Prejudice Bicentenary Challenge 2013

at Austenprose.com

Pride & Prejudice 200th Anniversary Party Blog Hop!

PandPPartyHop1-1

Happy Birthday Pride and Prejudice!

I’m having a giveaway, too!

My love affair with Pride and Prejudice began in 1996, believe it or not, with seeing an ad for the movie “Emma” with Gweneth Paltrow. Later that day, I was at the video store where I saw the miniseries with Kate Beckinsale and grabbed it.  I was hooked, and the next day found myself at the bookstore purchasing a compilation of all of Jane Austen’s books.  Once I finished Emma, I moved on to read Pride and Prejudice, which immediately became my favorite, and I’ll admit that I became obsessed.

That poor paperback was soon worn out to the point that I had to throw it away and get a copy of each novel instead, and of course read them again. For some strange reason I must have always skipped Northanger Abbey whenever I read the compilation and was thrilled to bits to have found a “new” book by Austen. I started searching the stores and internet for any versions of movies based on Jane Austen’s books, and fell in love with them all, time and time again – especially P&P! (I have to say that I threw away the 1940 version after seeing the ending, only to receive it again for Christmas later that year – fate must want me to have a complete collection.)

For a few years, this was enough, and then I became just a little distracted by the birth of my triplets (understatement!) Once I began to find a little time to myself, I re-read all of Jane’s novels and joined the The Republic of Pemberley, where I discovered the world of Jane Austen Fan Fiction, and went searching for more. It took me by surprise to find so many stories out there, and I couldn’t get enough!

And now, I’d like to share the love….

I’ll be giving away one paperback copy of

The Annotated Pride and Prejudice

by Jane Austen

Annotated and Edited by David M. Shapard

(Sorry, USA only):

Annotated P&P

AND

one eBook copy of each of my novels (from Smashwords, so that winners can download it in any format they’d like)

(International)

Promises

Dreams and Expectations
All Hallow’s Eve

Click here to enter:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Then hop on over to

Alyssa Goodnight’s blog and Stiletto Storytime

for a list of the many other blogs participating in the

blog hop party!

Enjoy the hop!

Please note:

Winners will be notified by email and announced here on January 30.

If a winner does not reply by Midnight Eastern Time, February 2,

another winner will be selected.

Text of Pride and Prejudice – 200th Anniversary personal challenge

I woke up this morning and remembered a dream I had – for the 200th anniversary of the publication of Pride and Prejudice, I was typing the entire text.  Since many of my ideas for my stories also come from dreams, I decided that”s just what I’m going to do!

Check out the new page on my website.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Since I’m afraid it might disappear if I type it here, I’ll be typing in Word and pasting it from time to time.  I certainly hope it all fits!

~~~~~

I was going to simply read Pride and Prejudice as part of

The Pride and Prejudice Bicentenary Challenge 2013

at Austenprose.com

but this is one step better!

Pride, Prejudice and the Perfect Match

Since I’m suffering from writer’s block, I might as well take advantage of the time “off” and get started on the challenges I’ve signed up for this year.

First up in the Pride and Prejudice Bicententary Challenge is

Marilyn Brant’s new release, Pride, Prejudice and the Perfect Match

The premise of Dr. Will Darcy and single mom Beth Bennet meeting through “Lady Catherine’s Love Match Website” sounded interesting, so I grabbed it. Once I started reading it, only sheer exhaustion forced me to put it down, to be taken up the following day as soon as I was able, and reading straight through to the end.

Both Will and Beth have their motives for signing up for online dating, and “looking for love” is not among them. Beth, a sociology student, fakes her profile as research for her final paper. Will is more honest with his answers, but it is in response to a bet he can’t refuse – what he’ll win will help make a lot of people’s lives so much better.

After corresponding through email for a while, they meet. Attraction grows into something much more, but to take their relationship to a more serious level, they’ll have to confess their deceptions. Will either be able to trust the other once the truth is out? Can Will get past his prejudices and accept who Beth really is?

Although this story didn’t hit all the marks one expects from a Pride & Prejudice modernization, I thoroughly enjoyed every word of this sweet, romantic tale.

The Pride and Prejudice Bicentenary Challenge 2013

hosted by Laurel Ann Nattress of Austenprose.com

2013 is the 200th anniversary of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, and I’m joining the celebration at Austenprose.com.

Between January 1, through December 31, 2013, participants can read, listen to, or watch movie adaptations of Jane Austen’s novel, or choose from the multitude of variations, sequels, and re-tellings.

Really, this should be a breeze for fans of Pride and Prejudice, but since I’ve never participated in a reading challenge before this year, I’m going to start off slowly, choosing a participation level of Neophyte: 1 – 4 selections.

If you’d like to participate, head on over to Austenprose.com to sign up before  July 1, 2013.

Decisions, Decisions!

There are so many, I’m having a little trouble figuring out just which novels, movies, or audio books to use for the challenge!

  1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – not only am I reading it, but I’m typing the whole thing out on my website! Update: I’ve had a shoulder injury and can’t type for very long, so this is on hold. (I haven’t checked for typos yet, but I will eventually.) I have to save my typing time for my new story 😉
  2. Pride, Prejudice, and the Perfect Match by Marilyn BrantReview 1/19/13
  3. Attempting Elizabeth by Jessica GreyReview 1/26/13
  4. Loving Miss Darcy by Nancy KelleyReview 2/2/13
  5. One Thread Pulled by Diana J. OaksReview 2/17/13
  6. The Man Who Loved Jane AustenReview 4/26/13
  7. Yours Affectionately, Jane AustenReview 4/30/13
  8. I’ll be watching as many movie versions as I can lay my hands on.

I’ll update my list to include more as I read them.